The Book – Chapter 1

My nice clear workpace at the beginning...

In 2003 my sister, Joanne Felk, was killed in a car accident. Jo was a gifted and highly awarded Australian photographer who left behind an amazing portfolio of work and it has always been goal of mine to publish a book of her work, primarily as a legacy for her 3 sons and something special to remember her by for anyone who loves her work. I have had a few stops and starts on the book but this year it has been one of my priorities to finally get it done. I thought I might chronicle the development of the book here to share the journey….

To begin.  I clear my workspace and start refining the concept for the book.  Simply put: a book of Jo’s images (illustrative, fine art, wedding, commercial, kids) combined with anecdotes, comments or pics about her and the images she took.

Stories. Start thinking about who I should contact, talk or write to so I can start gathering the anecdotes .  The list is growing and includes friends, work colleagues, clients, family, students (thank goodness for Facebook).  Did I forget someone?

Working on the book concept

Images. Shane (Jo’s husband) drops off the work that was stored at their home to complete the collection of work I had gathered from her studio.  Problem!  I can no longer get into my study!  Solution:  we have just renovated and created a new living space – guess where the work is going?  (Lucky I haven’t put the carpet down or bought the furniture – yet!)

Some of Jo's work

I am already discovering treasure in those boxes and can’t wait to see the content develop.  More later….

Check out the Joanne Felk Tribute Group on Facebook or read my post about Jo on Life as JenY blog if you would like to know more.

About JenY

A blog about my life as a JenY...
This entry was posted in the book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

